Round copper coin of ten cash, minted in Tianjin province in commemoration of the establishment of the Republic of China in 1912. On the obverse is the design of the iron-and-blood 18-star flag and the five-colour flag crossed at the centre, surrounded by Chinese inscriptions 'Zhong Hua Min Guo' meaning 'the Republic of China' above, and 'kai guo ji nian' meaning 'commemorating the establishment of a state' at the bottom. On the reverse, at the centre, is the Chinese inscription 'ten cash' flanked by a wheat plant within a beaded circle. It is surrounded by the English inscriptions 'The Republic of China' above, and 'Ten Cash'at the bottom with two stylised seven-dotted flowers in- between.

Collection Information

These objects are only a part of our collections, of which there are more than 350,000 objects. This information comes from our collections database. Some of this is incomplete and there may be errors. This part of the website is also still under construction, so there may be some fields repeated or incorrectly formatted information.

The database sometimes uses language taken from historical documents to help research, which may now appear outdated and even offensive. The database also includes information on objects that are considered secret or sacred by some communities.

If you have any further information about objects in our collections or can suggest corrections to our information, please contact us: