sample (textiles)

Textile sample, mainly black capital letters on a dark blue ground, vignettes stating names of African countries and a white circle containing coats of arms/flags (?) and "COMMUNAUTE ECONOMIQUE DE L'AFRIQUE DE L'OUEST".

CEDEAO (‘ECOWAS’ in English) Communauté Économique des Etats de l’Afrique de l’Ouest – the Economic Community of West African States was founded in 1975. Perhaps this commemorative cloth was purchased before it was distributed to celebrate the ten years of the Committee. ECOWAS is a committee of sixteen countries (now, fifteen), which currently include: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal and Sierra Leone (Mauritania withdrew in 2000). It was set up to promote economic integration in the West African region by creating a single trading bloc, and also has a peacekeeping force. The headquarters are in Abuja, Nigeria.

Collection Information

These objects are only a part of our collections, of which there are more than 350,000 objects. This information comes from our collections database. Some of this is incomplete and there may be errors. This part of the website is also still under construction, so there may be some fields repeated or incorrectly formatted information.

The database sometimes uses language taken from historical documents to help research, which may now appear outdated and even offensive. The database also includes information on objects that are considered secret or sacred by some communities.

If you have any further information about objects in our collections or can suggest corrections to our information, please contact us: